Skip to content
  • Trustees

    School Board-7150_smaller.jpgSchool Board Members are elected officials who govern Manitoba's public schools. They serve young Manitobans and the community by assisting to ensure that schools offer programs and services that meet the needs of the community.

     The Public Schools Act dictates the duties and powers of the School Board Members. This provincial legislation defines their responsibilities and discretionary powers. The Act maintains provincial standards, while allowing the School Board to address the specific needs of our Division.

    School Board elections are held every four years in conjunction with municipal elections.

    Louis Riel School Board

    Chairperson of the Board:     Louise Johnston

    Vice-Chairperson of the Board:      Sandy Nemeth

    (To view each Trustee's profile, click on their picture.)

    To find out which ward you are in, click here.


    School Board Committees 2021 – 2022

    This year, the Louis Riel School Division (LRSD) Board of Trustees has decided to take a different approach to committee work. Aside from the Riel-Evate Endowment Fund Committee, the Board did not appoint individuals to committees. Instead, they will work collectively as a team. The Board realized through community consultations, and honest discussions that simply appointing the same committees was not enough. LRSD is a progressive division, and your School Board needs to lead by example.

    The goal is to provide stronger governance and remain agile during rapidly changing circumstances. The hope is that this change in structure will bring deeper conversations and understanding, more responsive to the needs of the LRSD community, and eliminate duplication of work for our Senior Leadership Team and Support Group.

    Standing Committees

    Riel-Evate Foundation                

    Sandy Nemeth (Chair)
    Tom Parker

    Board Meeting Dates 2022-2023

    50 Monterey Road (Board Room)

    Regular Board Meetings for 2022-2023 commence at 6:30 p.m.:

    • Sept.  6, 2022
    • Sept. 20, 2022
    • Oct. 4, 2022
    • Oct. 18, 2022
    • Nov. 1, 2022
    • Nov. 15, 2022
    • Dec. 6, 2022
    • Dec. 20, 2022
    • Jan. 17, 2023
    • Feb. 7, 2023
    • Feb. 21, 2023
    • March 7, 2023
    • March 21, 2023
    • April 4, 2023
    • April 18, 2023
    • May 2, 2023
    • May 16, 2023
    • June 6, 2023
    • June 20, 2023

    Special Board Meetings for 2022-2023 commence at 5:30 p.m.:

    • October 25, 2022 - Financial Statements
    • March 7, 2023 - Budget